More than $60K in scholarships awarded at BCAC 2019 Silver Wings Awards

The 2019 British Columbia Aviation Council’s Silver Wings Awards cocktail dinner-style event, held on October 24, recognized industry colleagues for specific achievements within the province’s aviation and aerospace industry.

In addition to fine food, entertainment and a silent auction, the gala celebration included distribution of more than $60,000 in annual scholarships presented to students who are making aviation and aerospace their career choice.

Aviation Entrepreneur of the Year Award Dave Curtis of Longview Aviation Capital Corp.—Acquisition of the entire Dash 8 program, the in‐production Q400 Bombardier Inc. program and the rights to the deHavilland name and trademark in all Canadian transactions.

Back and Bevington Air Safety Trophy Airspan Helicopters—Implementation of a more sophisticated SMS and the hiring of a safety manager

Environmental Award Smithers Airport—Installation of geothermal heating and cooling system

Lifetime Achievement Award Glenn Oerzen—Supporter of BCIT’s Airline and Flight Operations program

Robert S. Day Trophy Mike Hooper of the Nanaimo Airport—Contribution to Aviation/Aerospace in the Province

William Templeton Trophy Vanderhoof Airport—New hangar and formation of the Vanderhoof Airport Development Society

Hope Air Community Giving Award – Pacific Coastal Airlines—BCAC Member Support for Hope Air’s activities

Scholarships 2019

Al Michaud Memorial Bursary ($1,000) ‐ Mathew Robert Mosveen, Victoria Flying Club

Anderson Family Private Pilot Flight Training Scholarship ($5,000) There are two Anderson Scholarships this year, one in the amount of $5,000 to Samuel Thiessen, BP Aviation, and $3,500 to Gavin Boothroyd, Pacific Flying Club

Anne and Rudy Bauer Memorial Bursary ($1,000) ‐ Rachel Allen, Victoria Flying Club

Barry and Jim Aviation Maintenance Graduate Scholarship ($3,000) ‐ Erick Beltran, University of the Fraser Valley

BC Airport Committee Airport Operations/Management Training Bursary ($2,000 x 2) Ian Garcia, BCIT, and George Mathews, BCIT

BCAC “Career” Training Scholarship ($1,000) There are two of these awards this year: Grant Diamond, Victoria Flying Club, and Nicole Wardstrom, Principal Air Ltd.

BCAC Flight Instructor Training Scholarship ($1,000) ‐ Jonathan Bloomquist, Pacific Flying Club

Conair Group Commercial Aviation Training Scholarship ($3,000) Anastasia Lisnevskaya, Pacific Flying Club

Ernie Alexander, Q.C. Memorial Scholarship ($2,000) Colin Stonier, Pacific Flying Club

HeliJet Helicopter AME Training Scholarship ($3,500) ‐ Paul Levesque, BCIT

Mary Swain Memorial Aviation Training Scholarship ($1,000) ‐ Renata Nicmans, Chinook Helicopters

John and Michelle Ward Memorial Flight Training Scholarship (Commercial Pilot) ($2,000) ‐ Thomas Clark, Pacific Flying Club

William Templeton Airport Operations Management Training Bursary ($1,000) ‐ Rachel Yang, BCIT

Other Awards

Harbour Air Advanced Float Plane Endorsement ScholarshipVictoria Grahn, Chinook Helicopters

BC General Aviation scholarships awarded to:

Erissa Yong Bursary, $2,000 –  Erik Urquhart

Onkarbir Singh Toor Memorial Bursary, $1,000 – Mark Daniel Pua

Individuals and businesses may donate to the BCAC Scholarship program or set up their own scholarship with BCAC.

For more information on how to do so, contact Mark Duncan, Endowment Committee Chair ( to discuss options.